Blessed are Those Called to the Supper of the Lamb

Blessed is the one who will dine in the Kingdom of God.

These words are said to Jesus as he sits at table in the beginning of today’s Gospel.  He then proceeds into a long parable about a feast to which the rich and great are being invited and turning down the invitation.  The Master of the house responds by widening his circle of invitations not just to the poor, blind, and lame, but even to the highways and hedgerows (seemingly a place where robbers lay in wait).

In telling this parable, Jesus affirms this person’s statement, but flips it on its head.  Like the speaker, we commonly think “I’m invited because I’m blessed, because I’m good, because I’m great.”  Jesus is saying, “You are blessed because you are invited.”  The difference is substantial.  The former leaves me where I am, for if I was invited because I’m good then nothing needs to change.  The latter calls me to a higher station, thus it calls me up out of whatever mess I’m in at that moment.

So, at Mass when we hear the words “Blessed are those called to the Supper of the Lamb.”  We rightly respond, “I am not worthy” because we aren’t kneeling in front of the Lord because we are great, but because He is great and, by His invitation, hopes to make us Blessed.

Leave a Reply

