Come Around the Fire

Encounter Dayton happened!  How great is that?!?  While I was there I spent a lot of time in prayer and I want to share what the Lord placed on my heart as I prayed about the Spirit.

I have to confess that I have recently experienced a fear of the Spirit.  It was much like this quote from Benedict XVI, “The Holy Spirit is fire; whoever does not want to be burned should not come near him.”  Now, that quote can get you pumped!  Or, it can discourage you if you approach it the wrong way.

See, I coordinate several ministries, have two kids, and still have to take care of myself spiritually.  With all of that busyness, I can get weary and overwhelmed.  It is during those times of tiredness that I look at our popular views of the Spirit and get hesitant.  I’m hesitant because I see the Spirit adding projects, obligations, relationships, and missions to people’s lives.  He is emphasized as a mover, activator, and animator and sometimes I don’t feel like I have time for that.

Maybe you can relate.  Maybe you have felt too busy, too stretched, or too exhausted for the Spirit, and you really don’t want to get burned.  If you can relate, here is what the Lord put on my heart.

campfire-by-carl-buell-2The Spirit is fire, yes.  Fire is active and a sign of energy and motion.  However, the Lord also called the Spirit our comforter and our consoler.  When you are tired, beaten, battered, and scared, He is the arms that wrap us in a comforting embrace.  He is the fire of a person camping in woods at night, providing comfort and warding off the darkness.  He is the fireplace that a family gathers around on a cold winter night providing peace, calm, and communion that goes beyond words or activities.

The Liar whispered in my ear that the Spirit will only stretch you thinner than you can go, “Like butter over too much bread” says Mr. Bilbo.
The Lord promised me that around this fire I can truly find rest.  He will rejuvenate me before He sends me back out.
I believe Him.  And so I invite you, come around the fire.

Leave a Reply

