QotD – I am, therefore I think – 05.16.2016

Cogito, ergo sum” (“I think, therefore I am”)

How different from the appraoch of Saint Thomas, for whom it is not thought which determines existence, “esse,” which determines thought!  I think the way I think becuase I am that which I am – a creature – and because He is He who is, the absolute uncreated Mystery.  If He were not Mystery, there would be no need for Revelation, or more precisely, there would be no need for God to reveal Himself.

(Crossing the Threshhold of Hope, St. Pope John Paul II, 38)

Leave a Reply

